Coconut Chicken with a Mango Strawberry Salsa

In 2013 my husband and I went to Orlando for our honeymoon. One of those days we went to Downtown Disney Rainforest Café to eat. There I  had shrimp skewers that came along with a side of rice and mango salsa. After we were home I really wanted to recreate the mango salsa for my children. My children are not very big on shrimp so I had to use chicken. The end product I came up with is a coconut chicken and a mango strawberry salsa.  I serve it along with a side of rice.  Shrimp instead of chicken is also a great replacement.

This is a big hit in my house. I don’t make it as much as I should, my family is always begging me to make it.

 

 

salsaandchicken

Mango Strawberry Salsa

  • 1lb Strawberries, diced
  • 1large mango (about 3 cups), diced
  • 2 Kiwi, peeled and diced
  • 1 Jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced
  • 1/2 cup Red Onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup Cilantro, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon Lemon Juice

 

  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl
  2. Chill for 2 hours or over night. ( I like to make it the night before, then all the juices from the fruit comes out and gives it more flavor.)

 

salsaandchicken3

Coconut Chicken

  • 1 to 1.5 lbs of chicken breast, cut into strips if you would like.(could use shrimp if preferred )
  • 1 cup Unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 cup of Panko bread crumbs( gluten free bread crumbs)
  •  1/4 cups of flour (your choice of gluten free flour)
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 eggs ( 4tablespoon water, 2 teaspoon oil, 4 tsp baking powder. As an egg replacer)
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon Mustard
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Lightly spray a baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. In a bowl combine coconut, bread crumbs,  flour, garlic powder, ginger, salt, and pepper.
  3. In a bowl combine eggs (or egg replacer), water, and Dijon mustard.
  4. Dip chicken or shrimp into egg mixture. Then dredge chicken or shrimp into coconut mixture. Gently press coconut mixture on to chicken or shrimp.
  5.  Place chicken or shrimp on to baking sheet and bake chicken for 15 to 17 minutes. Until chicken or shrimp is cooked all the way through. (juices run clear in the chicken or 165 degrees F. Bake the shrimp for 6-8 minutes. Shrimp will be translucent to white and pink and opaque.)
Leave a Reply

